​NEWS & EVENTS

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

PTFA Fundraising
The PTFA have been busy raising funds for the school.
This term they have recently purchased a number of new games and toys for wet playtimes. They have also purchased two Lego Education sets to help to further develop STEM teaching. 
The children were extremely excited to receive the new resources and the School Council gratefully received the items on behalf of their classmates.

STEM Challenge

Senior Teacher Mrs Joanne Hubbert and Class 5 teacher Mrs Rachel Wilson are keen to try out their STEM skills with the Lego Education kits donated by the PTFA.

Raising Money for Charity
The NSPCC has been our chosen charity for the Autumn Term 2019. 
As well as the wonderful work they do to help children across the UK, they work with us in school to help us to teach children about staying safe. They lead workshops for Year 6 children in preparation for transition as well as E-safety workshops for parents.
We enjoyed our 'Wear Something Green for Buddy' day on 6th November, when Mrs Douglas from the NSPCC  to lead assemblies in school.
We also asked parents and friends to give generously at the end of each of our Christmas performances. 
We are delighted to have raised a total of £550 for the NSPCC this term.
Thank you to all who supported us.
We also raise money for other charities, such as 'Save the Children' at different events throughout the year.
Pupil News
We were delighted that all our children choosing to sit the 11+ examination in 2019, achieved the score required for entry into Lincolnshire Grammar Schools.
Not all of our children opt to sit the 11+ examination and we are delighted that children and their families tell us they feel well-supported in making an informed decision when faced with secondary transition.
 
Our children feed into a wide range of secondary schools and we encourage children and parents to visit a number of secondary schools in their area.
Please see below for links to some of the Secondary Schools we feed into. 
Performance and Public Speaking
 
At Bicker Preparatory School and Early Years we place a high priority on building confidence through public performances. 
 
Every Christmas our Foundation Stage children put on a musical Nativity for parents, grandparents, other family members and friends. Each child has a role to play, most with speaking parts and all join in with singing and dancing.
 
Our Upper School children put on a pantomime. Every child has a speaking part and older children sing solos and all are expected to memorise their lines.
 
Church services throughout the year, as well as the annual Prizegiving Ceremony held at the Village Hall, enables children to develop the confidence they need to
'shine' at secondary school. 
 
Many of our children are chosen as form captains or team representatives  when they move up to secondary school and we receive glowing reports from the schools we feed into. 
                      Dates for your Information
 
11+ Tests - 2020 test dates will be available shortly. Further details will be posted in the New Year.
Please click on the links below to access up-to-date information on 11+ arrangements, as well as Open Days for Year 5 and 6 children, directly from each school's own website.
 
Boston High School
Boston Grammar School
Thomas Cowley High School
William Lovell Church of England Academy
Spalding Grammar School
Spalding High School
Horncastle Grammar
Sleaford High School
St George's Academy
Carre's Grammar School
King's School, Grantham
Lincoln Minster School
Bourne Grammar School
Bourne Academy
 
 
 Events Calendar

 

Headteachers Termly Newsletter to Parents

click below to access link

Summer 2018

Wednesday 5th September

Children return to school. 

Saturday 8th/Sunday 9th September

Bicker Steam Threshing Weekend

Tuesday 11th September   

Discovery Sport sessions begin for children from Reception to Year 6

Thursday 13th September

Class 3 Nature Reserve trip

Friday 14th September

11+ VR test

Friday 21st September

11+ NVR test

Thursday 27th September

Class 4  Nature Reserve trip

Monday 1st October

R/Y1 athletics at the B-Hive

Thursday 4th October

Foundation Stage Nature Reserve trip

Monday 8th October

Year 2/3/4 athletics at the B-Hive

Thursday 11th October

Class 5  Nature Reserve trip

Monday 15th October

Class 5 athletics at the B-Hive

Wednesday 17th October

Break up for Half-Term Holiday

Wednesday 31st October

Pupils return from Half-Term Holiday

 Events Calendar

 

Headteachers Termly Newsletter to Parents

click below to access link

Autumn 2018

Tuesday 8th January

Children return to school. 

Nocton Visits 2019

Thursday 17th January

Thursday 31st January

Thursday 14th February

Friday 8th February

 

Dark Skies Event - Market Rasen

Ticket only event

Nature Reserve Trips 

Spring 2019

 

Thurs 7th March - Class 5

Thurs 14th March - Class 4

Thurs 21st March - Class 3

Thurs 28th March - F / Stage 

 

Cross Country 2019   

Saturday 19th January

Saturday 16th February

Saturday 16th March

9.15am registration at the B-Hive

Wednesday 21st November

'Flu vaccinations in school

(Yr 1 - 5)

Wednesday 12th December

Christmas lunch and Christmas Jumper Day

Thursday 13th December

Class 5 visit to Stonehaven Care Home for a morning of Christmas Readings and Carols

End of Term

Tuesday 18th December

Children return to School

Tuesday 8th January 2019

 Events Calendar

 

Headteachers Termly Newsletter to Parents

click below to access link

Autumn 2019

Tues 7th January

Pupils return to school

Wednesday 8th January

Mr Johnston ( guitar, ukelele, flute, trumpet) lessons recommence

Mon 13th January

 

Mr Clarke(violin) and Mr Collins ( piano) lessons recommence

Mon 13th January

After School Clubs recommence this week

 

Nocton Leisure Centre Trips

 

Classes 3,4 and 5

children all require a packed lunch

Day 1 - Wednesday 15th January Day 2 - Wednesdsay 29th January

Day 3 - Thursday 13th February

 

Spring Term Nature Reserve

Children will require a packed lunch

 

Thurs 5th March-Classes 4 and 5

Thurs 12th March - Foundation Stage and Class 3

Weds 11th March

Individual Photographs in School

Weds 18th March

Pop-Up Shop for Mothers' Day ( PTFA)

Friday 20th March

Mothers' Day Service at St Swithuns

2pm Start

Monday 23rd March

 

Balanceability for Foundation Stage

Monday - Thursday

Weds 25th March

PTFA Film Night

3.30pm - 5.30pm in school

 

Weds 1st -Thurs 2nd April

Class 5 Residential Trip to Rand Farm

Weds 1st April

Break Up for Easter Holidays